EcoHomes 2006

EcoHomes is part of the BREEAM family used to assess domestic buildings against sustainability criteria. The assessment was first introduced in 2000 however it was merely a voluntary scheme until the Housing Corporation enforced it as an affordable housing requirement on 1 April 2003.

EcoHomes was replaced by the Code for Sustainable Homes in April 2007, however it is still used to assess refurbished units.

The assessment consists of six categories ranging from energy to ecology, materials to management. Each category is broken down into a number of sections under which an allocated number of credits can be achieved. An environmental weighing factor is applied to each sections score and the overall score is determined.

The following scores are required to achieve each level of the assessment:

Pass: 36
Good: 48
Very Good: 58
Excellent: 70